Blackburn, Senate Colleagues Support Visit to Taiwan by Speaker Pelosi

August 2, 2022

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senators Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.) and Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska) along with 24 of their colleagues—including Senators Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), John Thune (R-S.D.), Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Ben Sasse (R-Neb.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Rob Portman (R-Ohio), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Richard Burr (R-N.C.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa) and Pat Toomey (R-Pa.)—today issued the following joint statement in support of House Speaker Nancy Pelosi stopping in Taiwan during her diplomatic trip to Asia.


“We support Speaker of the House of Representatives Nancy Pelosi’s trip to Taiwan. For decades, members of the United States Congress, including previous Speakers of the House, have travelled to Taiwan. This travel is consistent with the United States’ One China policy to which we are committed. We are also committed now, more than ever, to all elements of the Taiwan Relations Act.”