Blackburn Leads Colleagues In Amicus Brief Challenging ATF Pistol Brace Rule

March 1, 2023

U.S. Senator Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.) led over 30 of her congressional colleagues in filing an amicus brief to the United States District Court for the District of North Dakota, contending that the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives’ (ATF) new pistol brace rule clearly contravenes the Second Amendment. The amicus brief also contends that the rule was never authorized by Congress, thus violating basic separation of powers principles.

The ATF issued a rule in January stating that over 99% of brace-equipped pistols are “short-barreled rifles” and, thus, subject to burdensome regulatory requirements. These pistol braces are helpful for individuals with disabilities or who lack physical strength to comfortably fire pistols, including veterans.

“The Second Amendment is non-negotiable and applies equally to all law-abiding adult citizens – including veterans and disabled individuals who need assistance to exercise their rights,” said Senator Blackburn. “The ATF does not have the constitutional authority to circumvent Congress and deny certain individuals that guaranteed freedom. Their new pistol brace rule is textbook bureaucratic overreach, and my colleagues and I urge the Court to vacate it.” 

Senate co-signers include Senators Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Tedd Budd (R-N.C.), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), and John Thune (R-S.D.).

House co-signers include Representatives Mike Rogers (R-Ala.), Chuck Fleischmann (R-Tenn.), Jodey Arrington (R-Texas), Greg Steube (R-Fla.), Mary Miller (R-Ill.), Jim Jordan (R-Ohio), Nathaniel Moran (R-Texas), Stephanie Bice (R-Okla.), Scott DesJarlais (R-Tenn.), Ron Estes (R-Kan.) Jake Ellzey (R-Texas), Jason Smith (R-Mo.), Don Bacon (R-Neb.), Andrew Clyde (R-Ga.), Claudia Tenney (R-N.Y.), Ralph Norman (R-S.C.), Greg Murphy (R-N.C.), Andy Harris (R-Md.), Ben Cline (R-Va.), Glenn Grothman (R-Wis.), and Mike Bost (R-Ill.).

Click here to read the full brief.