Blackburn Pushes Back On Biden’s Student Loan Forgiveness Plan In Amicus Brief To Supreme Court

February 3, 2023

U.S. Senator Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.), and more than 40 of their Republican colleagues filed an amicus brief to the Supreme Court of the United States on Friday, supporting respondents in the dual Supreme Court cases challenging Biden’s student-loan debt relief program, Biden v. Nebraska and Department of Education v. Brown.


The senators argue that Biden’s decision to forgive federal student loan debt in these circumstances constitutes unprecedented executive overreach and defies the separation of powers between Congress and the President.


“Hardworking Americans should not be forced to foot the bill for coastal elites to get their PhD in gender studies,” said Senator Blackburn. “Still, President Biden has unilaterally used his national COVID emergency to justify student loan bailouts. His plan bypasses Congress’s comprehensive plan for student borrowers in the Higher Education Act of 1965 and clearly violates basic principles of executive power under Article II of the Constitution. My colleagues and I urge the Court to preserve the constitutional separation of powers and stop this partisan handout on the taxpayer’s dime.”


Co-signers include Senators Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Tedd Budd (R-N.C.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), John Thune (R-S.D.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), John Cornyn (R-Texas), James Risch (R-Idaho), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Markwayne Mullin (R-Okla.), Katie Britt (R-Ala.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), John Kennedy (R-La.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Pete Ricketts (R-Neb.), and John Boozman (R-Ark.).


Click here to read the full brief.