

## THE UNITED STATES CONFERENCE OF MAYORS

1620 EYE STREET NORTHWEST WASHINGTON, D.C. 20006 TELEPHONE (202) 293-7330 FAX (202) 293-2352 URL: www.usmayors.org

October 13, 2020

President: GREG FISCHER Mayor of Louisville Vice President: NAN WHALEY NAN WHALEY
Mayor of Dayton
Second Vice President:
FRANCIS X. SUAREZ
Mayor of Miami
Past Presidents:
BRYAN K. BARNETT
Mayor of Rochester Hills, MI
STEVE BENJAMIN
Mayor of Columbia, SC
ELIZABETH B. KAUTZ
Mayor of Burnsville
Trustees:

Trustees: STEVE ADLER Mayor of Austin J. CHRISTIAN BOLLWAGE Mayor of Elizabeth JAMES BRAINARD Mayor of Carmel CHRISTOPHER L. CABALDON CHRISTOPHER L. CABALDON
Mayor of West Sacramento
JOY COOPER
Mayor of Hallandale Beach
T.M. 'FRANKLIN COWNIE
Mayor of Des Moines
HARDIE DAVIS, JR.
Mayor of Augusta
BILL de BLASIO
Mayor of New York City
JORGE O. ELORZA
Mayor of Providence Mayor of Providence
JOHN GILES
Mayor of Mesa
DAVID HOLT
Mayor of Oklahoma City
HILLARY SCHIEVE Mayor of Reno SYLVESTER TURNER

SYLVESTER TURNER
Mayor of Houston
MARTIN J. WALSH
Mayor of Boston
Advisory Board:
JUAN CARLOS BERMUDEZ
Mayor of Doral
MURIÉL BOWSER
Mayor of the District of Columbia
SHARON WESTON BROOME
Mayor of Baton Rouge
ROY D. BUOL
Mayor of Dubuque
LATOYA CANTREIL
Mayor of New Orleans
JANE CASTOR
Mayor of Timpa Mayor of Tampa PAULINE RUSSO CUTTER

Mayor of San Leandro MICHELLE De La ISLA Mayor of Topeka IENNY A. DURKAN Mayor of Seattle BUDDY DYER BUDDY DYER
Mayor of Orlando
JOE GANIM
Mayor of Bridgeport
ROBERT GARCIA
Mayor of Long Beach
OLIVER G. GILBERT, III
Mayor of Miami Gardens
ANDREW GINTHER
Mayor of Columbus
CAROLYN G. GOODMAN
Mayor of Las Vegas
ERIC JOHNSON
Mayor of Dallas

Mayor of Dallas HARRY LaROSILIERE Mayor of Plano LORI E. LIGHTFOOT Mayor of Chic LILY MEI Mayor of Chicago
LILY MEI

Mayor of Fremont
JOSEPH T. McELVEEN, JR.
Mayor of Sumter
JON MITCHELL
Mayor of New Bedford
KENNETH D. MIYAGISHIMA
Mayor of Las Cruces
FRANK C. ORTIS
Mayor of Pembroke Pines
BETSY PRICE
Mayor of Fort Worth
MIGUEL A. PULIDO
Mayor of Santa Ana
MICHAEL D. TUBBS
Mayor of Stockton
BRIAN C. WAHLER
Mayor of Piscataway

Mayor of Piscataway ACQUANETTA WARREN Mayor of Fontana JEFF WILLIAMS Mayor of Arlington, TX VICTORIA WOODARDS Mayor of Tacoma

CEO and Executive Director TOM COCHRAN

The Honorable Marsha Blackburn **United States Senate** 357 Dirksen Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Josh Hawley **United States Senate** 212 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Senator Blackburn and Senator Hawley,

On behalf of the United States Conference of Mayors, thank you for your letter of October 8, 2020, regarding your concerns with sister-city partnerships between the United States and China.

Since the U.S. Conference of Mayors does not manage sister-city relationships, we suggest you raise the technical questions included in your letter directly with Sister Cities International, the organization that manages sister-city partnerships.

Thank you.

Sincerely,

**Greg Fischer** Mayor of Louisville

President